I’m Up, He Sees Me, I’m Down!

28 April, 2014

 

Had a good class weekend (being in the woods training is always a good weekend). I’m posting a video that was taken to show the basics of the rush, as an individual skill to practice. The Mason Dixon Tactical drill being performed here, is the A/BC-Drill (Assault/ Break Contact).  I have students perform this, first on dry runs, then (after assurance that they are safe), the live fire. Spacing between the buddy team is about 20 to 25 meters across. This spacing is for 1) Safety, and 2) If you can do it this far apart and be heard by your buddy, closer will be a walk in the park. As I’ve told students that think just one class is all that’s needed. Every time you take the class (or practice these skills in a safe place) you pick up things you didn’t pick up before. When you start out, you are so intent on the basics of remembering “Muzzle, Trigger, Safety!” (Live fire is SERIOUS BUSINESS!) , that you forget some of the basics like your  initial warning of  “Distance, Direction, Description”, and reminding yourself of “I’m up, He sees me, I’m down”.

As your confidence in your ability to “Do it right” goes up, so does your comfort level, and  attention to details. Assessing where your next position is going to be, is one of those tasks that most students forget initially. As they practice the drill, and they continue to perfect the implied tasks by order of priority (safety is THE PRIORITY whether on my range or in combat, unless your foolish enough to think safety rules don’t apply there), their ability and proficiency goes up. A square range with set cover positions is not real world for the most part, and anyone who hasn’t trained on a true “real world” range, is deluding themselves about their ability to perform a buddy team bounding exercise outside the sterile square range environment. “I’m up, He sees me, I’m down” isn’t about how super fast you are (your buddy is covering you…right?) it’s a guide mantra that is going through your mind as you perform the task (the rush),  and it becomes second nature with a lot of repetition. Once you get to the point that it is a part of your natural thought pattern when conducting the rush, you will notice your personal “GET THE HELL DOWN” alarm will go off when your up too long. “Slow is smooth, smooth is fast” right? Although we want to get from A to B as quickly as possible, there are threats other than bullets. Picking your route to cover isn’t as easy as picking your cover will be, and your need to move as fast as you can to that cover, while still watching your step (a broken ankle or knee in training or real world could very well end the situation very quickly, and not in your favor). A square range does not accurately simulate this threat, and that’s one of the reasons I don’t use one. Perfect practice makes perfect. Start slow, do it by the numbers. Speed will come, but you don’t want to injure yourself, and set back your training cycle from that injury. I believe time is short, get trained while you can. Be a retaining wall to the jackbooted thugs that want to destroy what we love, not a speed bump. Which are you?

Here’s the deal with the video. It started about 5 seconds late, so my initial 8 round rapid fire burst, and my giving “Distance, Direction, and Description were not part of the video. I’m carrying my 15 lb, Socom M1A EBR (too heavy, right?), and my gear is the H harness and Tac Tailor vest from this post     https://masondixontactical.wordpress.com/2014/03/10/the-fightingsurvival-load-for-mounted-and-dismounted-operations/     and it weighs in at 70 lbs. And yes, my 6’1”, 195 lbs frame looks like a fat ass in the video (add 10 lbs. my ass), It wasn’t done as  a “look at me” and how cool I am doing IMT, it was done because I’ve had a number of people ask about the specifics of the A/BC-Drill we do.   BTW, the camera woman was not injured in the making of this video, LOL.

JCD

American by BIRTH, Infidel by CHOICE

11 thoughts on “I’m Up, He Sees Me, I’m Down!

  1. Excellent thought provoking post/vid…

    Still running solo up here in Alaska. Daunting and frustrating to say the least. My team has not matured to a state we are effective to even have chow at the same time, let alone let them launch lead around each other while moving. I’m trying to line up some good training to no avail.. You and your camera woman should come to Alaska. Ill show you where the Edelweiss grow…

    What sort of camera was she using to film?

    Bergmann

  2. Pingback: JC Dodge: “I’m Up – He Sees Me – I’m Down!” | Western Rifle Shooters Association

    • Thanks for the compliments. Apparently. Some of the readers at WRSA didn’t take note of what I was wearing, when they commented that the individual should do a combat roll to the opposite side of their cover, before they jump up and move to their next cover. 1) I’m wearing a buttpack (that would look like a turtle in a delivery room), 2) The opposite side of the cover would not be a good path to take to the next cover. Even though this happens to be the technique taught in boot camp. It’s not the only technique. I guess I should have grabbed the small of the stock, and planted the butt, before I touched my knees to the ground. That techniques was implemented before the military rifle had a pistol grip, and while it works, it’s not the most effective if your weapon has a pistol grip.

      • Late coming comment: Agree completely on the ‘combat roll’ when wearing self-sustaining LBE/LBV. Most critics don’t have a baseline of experience (at least in the last 10 or 20 years, I’m guessing) to grasp the extreme amount of energy/effort it takes to move 50 meters in short rushes, let alone the discipline necessary to remain fit enough to do so as time inexorably moves on.

        I also agree that ‘old school’ hitting the ground method by planting said butt of the weapon into the ground first is no longer relevant when one has a weapon with a pistol grip due to the ergonmic changes required to do so. Have traditionally stocked weapon? Go for it.

        As for gaining 10 pounds? Nahhh…you already admitted your kit weighs in at 70 lbs. 🙂 As a side note, when I choose my kit, I always ask someone, “Does this make me look fat?” LOL

        Nice training vid, JC.

      • Wouldn’t have mattered if they took note or not, someone would find a reason to bitch at something else. Its the net..Its how you can tell who gets off their ass and trains and who doesn’t..

        Bergmann

  3. JC, excellent stuff! I thought I had already comment on this back when you first posted it but I guess I didn’t. Mind if I share it over at our forum (or would love to have you post it there)?

Leave a Reply

